Modi's NDA Secures Third Term Amid Setback: BJP Falls Short of Majority


The Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is poised to return for a third term in office, winning 293 seats in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. However, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fell short of a majority on its own, securing only 240 seats. The BJP now relies heavily on alliance partners like the TDP and JD(U) to meet the 272-seat threshold necessary to form a government.

The opposition INDIA bloc, comprising the Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP), Trinamool Congress (TMC), and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), made significant gains, winning a total of 232 seats. The Congress revived its fortunes with 99 seats, while the SP surged from 5 to 37 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The TMC maintained its dominance in West Bengal with 29 seats, and the DMK led in 22 constituencies. Other key players included the NCP with 7 seats and the Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray faction) with 9 seats.

Setback for BJP

Despite securing a majority, the BJP experienced a notable decline, losing 63 seats from its 2019 tally of 303. The party's vote share also dipped from 37.7% to 36.56%. Ambitious projections of winning 370 seats and securing 400-plus for the NDA did not materialize. Particularly striking was the BJP's failure to secure any seats in Tamil Nadu, though it did make historic gains in Kerala and doubled its seats in Telangana.

Uttar Pradesh: A Shift in Power

Uttar Pradesh (UP), India's most populous state with 80 parliamentary constituencies, witnessed a dramatic shift. The SP won 37 seats, while the Congress increased its tally to 6, together securing 43 seats for the INDIA alliance. The BJP managed 33 seats, with its allies winning 3. The BJP's loss in Faizabad, home to the Ram temple in Ayodhya, was particularly symbolic. Political analyst Apoorvanand highlighted the stronger partnership between SP leader Akhilesh Yadav and Congress's Rahul Gandhi, which resonated with younger voters disillusioned by the BJP.

West Bengal: TMC Fortifies Position

In West Bengal, the TMC won 29 seats, up from 22 in 2019, while the BJP secured only 12 seats. The Congress managed to win one seat. Pre-election exit polls predicting a vast BJP majority proved inaccurate, as the TMC maintained its stronghold.

Kerala: BJP Breaks New Ground

The BJP breached Kerala's traditionally left-leaning electorate, winning its first Lok Sabha seat in the state. Suresh Gopi's victory in Thrissur was a significant milestone. The Congress continued its dominance in Kerala, winning 14 seats.

Maharashtra: Opposition Gains

In Maharashtra, the INDIA alliance, including the Congress, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Thackeray faction), and NCP, won 30 of the state's 48 seats. The BJP, which traditionally partnered with Shiv Sena, won 9 seats. Apoorvanand attributed BJP's losses to its "politics of humiliation," which alienated voters and regional allies.

Karnataka: BJP's Mixed Results

The BJP won 17 out of 28 seats in Karnataka, a decline from its 2019 performance. The Congress won 10 seats, and JD(S) secured 2. The BJP retained its stronghold in coastal areas like Mangaluru but saw an overall erosion of its base.

As the world's largest democratic exercise concludes, India's political landscape has seen significant shifts, with Modi's BJP needing to navigate new alliances and strategies in its third term.

Author: Anushka Taraniya

News writer